W4MW- Keeping up with the deals

w4mw

I’ve recently had a few people ask me how on earth do I keep up with where all the great money saving deals are. So I’ve decided to share my best time saving secret!

igoogle homepage!

If you go to google.com and you have a gmail account or any google account, click in the top right corner on the igoogle button and you will then be prompted to sign in or create an account. From there you can select a “theme” and save your settings.

On my igoogle home page I have access to my email.. and then the other boxes are reserved for RSS subscriptions of all my favorite deal finding bloggers! Don’t get tricked into adding all sorts of other “gadgets”.. you’ll need all the room you have to see the most Deal Bloggers at a glance.  (although I admit I did add a local news feed to my page too)

Here’s what mine looks like! (click on it to make it larger)

igooglepage

The way I set these up is really quite simple.. you can start off by adding my feed to your page! Click on the green RSS feed icon in the top right corner of my page. (Looks like this: g28 )

It will then prompt you with 2 options: Add to Google Homepage OR Subscribe in a Reader   I use the Google Homepage Option.. and then the RSS feed is delivered right to my homepage every day! Make sure you save your own google homepage as the homepage for you web browser..

Now, as you surf around the helpful sites that many of us money saving bloggers talk about, you can subscribe to all your own favorites!

I love knowing about the latest CVS, Walgreens, Publix and even Target and Walmart finds as soon as they are up! It really helps me plan my shopping trips… and I don’t have to go clicking around in my favorites trying to remember which site talks about which  store yada yada yada…

I also have a few other “tabs” on my google homepage reserved for other blogs I’ve run across that I like. For instance I have one for friends and family… (these aren’t usually updated “daily” so it’s just easier to have them on their own tab, so I can randomly check in to see when they are updated with out going around to each different page)

I hope “what works for me” will also work for you! I also hope I’m not posting about something that everyone else is already using!!! LOL

Let me know! I love getting your comments!

siggy1

4 Comments

Filed under organization, Works-for-Me Wednesday

4 responses to “W4MW- Keeping up with the deals

  1. I just figured this out a few days ago! Good tip!

  2. MJ

    Wow, thank you for the tip! This is very useful!

  3. sjbraun

    I’ve never heard about this, but would like to check it out. I definitely need help keeping up with deals. Thanks!
    http://www.girlsinwhitedresses.wordpress.com

  4. cmaster123

    thanks a lot..nice article

    You can find top restaurants, grocery , retail , food coupons here:

    http://www.coupon2print.blogspot.com Free Printable Coupons

Leave a Reply

